Day 1

I've been contemplating this pep talk for quite some time now. The idea of hitting the gym never appealed to me before; I lacked the motivation to embark on a fitness journey and found solace in being comfortable in my own skin. However, recent health challenges, particularly as a PCOD patient, forced me to confront a different realityā€”one filled with imbalances ranging from hair loss to weight gain, accompanied by various menstrual cycle issues.
The thirst of cry
After enduring a roller coaster of health challenges, I reluctantly found myself standing at the entrance of a gym. It sounds intriguing, doesn't it? Let me assure you, the reality is far from the glamorous transformations portrayed in quick-fix narratives. The true nature of the endeavor hits you like a needle when you observe a group of people engrossed in their workouts, seemingly oblivious to the world around them. In that moment, you feel lost, your courage falters, and a sense of inferiority creeps in. Doubt clouds your mind, making you question if this is the right path, prompting thoughts of switching to something else. As you scan the room, searching for a kindred spirit, you find none. Everyone appears comfortable and confident, while you grapple with feelings of inadequacy, engaging in a silent debate with your own body. Cursing the idea of stepping onto that treadmill, you fear embarrassment and potential failure. You stand there, paralyzed, hoping for a glimmer of reassurance that everything will be okay.

Amidst this chaos, the weight of the money spent on admission fees echoes in your mind. Your body’s silent plea for change resonates, urging you to shed some excess weight. You give yourself a pep talk, assuring that it’s just a matter of a few hours, encouraging yourself to focus on the task at hand. You remind yourself that you are in the right place, that you can do it. As you step out, you breathe in the fresh air, appreciating the earth for blessing you with its mystic nature.

I’m not sure what clicked or when the “go on” bulb ignited within me, but I managed to complete the first-day set. I cycled without overthinking, jumped without worrying about judgment, and squatted without caring about the spectators. The journey ahead is uncertain and stressful, but I commit to keep going, trusting that I’ll reach my goal someday.

P.S. All images are taken from “Openverse”

Leave a comment

Website Built by WordPress.com.